Saturday, 29 October 2016

The Tree of Everlasting Nolfi by Christine Nolfi


I didn’t go past ‘Go’ when I selected this book. I just went straight to my TBR. I didn’t remind myself what it was about…I relied on my judgement that if it was on my list, there was a very good reason for it. And I’m pleased to say I can still rely on my judgement. This was an excellent book.

However…I’m totally and utterly confused. In slightly reverse order, having  read and enjoyed the book, I was a little curious to see what the ‘blurb’ said. And therein I find there’s a character I haven’t even heard of. I really thought, well, that’s it. I’ve finally qualified for men-in-white-coats-ville. Further confusion reigned when I realise the other characters and…more importantly the plot…are identical. In short, my main character—Ourania—morphed into ‘Rennie’. What on earth?

Anyway…confusion aside (and at least the character didn’t change name during the story) this was a Very Good Book.

Secrets can change lives. They changed Ourania’s, a competent electrician…and fosterparent…they changed Troy’s, the eldest son of a rich and powerful family and the strain of keeping secrets change the lives of two young children. Secrets that are held by a magnificent old oak tree.

This is a powerful drama with strong, solid characters in a robust plot. There are twists and turns, and although I guessed the major twist fairly early on, Nolfi writes with such passion and compassion, intelligently and articulately, and the story builds to such a dramatic climax, it really didn’t matter.

I will certainly be checking out more books by this author, and I really wouldn’t mind catching up with Ourania (Rennie, whatever she’s supposed to be called) and Troy.


  1. Hi Cathy,

    No doubt you read an older version of the book; The Tree of Everlasting Knowledge was revised in early 2015. During the revision, I returned the book to Liberty Series. In the process, the main character, Ourania, once again became Rennie Perini, the sister of Anthony from Second Chance Grill (book 1 in the series).

    If you're curious, The Tree of Everlasting Knowledge was originally part of the Liberty Series. I pulled the book out of the series pre-release due to a literary agent's suggestion that I shop the book separately. When her interest in the book waned, I looked for the time to put the novel back where it belonged.

    I plan to write more books in the series, hopefully in late 2017. In the meantime, I'm preparing to launch a new, heartwarming series with Lake Union. Sweet Lake, book one, is up for pre-order on Amazon.

    Many thanks for reviewing The Tree of Everlasting Knowledge.

  2. Ah, thank you for clarifying, Christine. So much for literary agents. Perhaps I should check out the Liberty series and read them in a logical order!

    1. If you'd like to review Second Chance Grill (book one) I'm happy to send it along.

    2. Oh that would be lovely, thank you!

  3. Thank you for keeping your blog current. Many Kindle blogs have not posted anything in over a year. I have linked to your blog on my start page at This start page focuses on Kindle websites and is formatted for the Silk browser on the Kindle. Your link will remain active as long as your blog is up to date.